PDA

View Full Version : Fasting

TibetanKF
07-18-2002, 05:17 AM
I'm starting a 3 day juice fast tomorrow. I've never done this before, so I'm kind of dreading it. Do any of you that have done a juice fast have any advice or pointers that might make it a little easier? Do you think it's beneficial? What was your fasting experience like?

Helicopter
07-18-2002, 06:55 AM
Try not to think about food all the time. (You will though ;) )

Repulsive Monkey
07-18-2002, 07:31 AM
Why are you doing this? Too be honest from a Chinese Medicine point of view a fast where the only thing you have is juice is not good for the stomach or spleen especially. Is it for religious observations?

07-18-2002, 07:43 AM
I used to know a guy that only ate fruit and drank water one day a week in order to lean the toxins from his body - that was what he said - not sure how it got rid on the toxins in the fruit and the water though.

Personally a three day fast sounds a bit excessive to me - then again I know nothing about the subject - do you have medical/scientific back up for your fast or did it just seem like a good idea ? Having said it sounds excessive I'm a big beleiver in listening to your body - you can try it - it wont kill you - and if you feel good afterwards then it has probably worked.

TibetanKF
07-18-2002, 10:44 AM
I'm using the fast as a detox. There are no religious or spiritual reasons. Also, I will not be drinking only acidic citrus juices. I plan on a good mix of vegetable and fruit juices as well as herbal teas. I was planning on doing this for the health benefits, but didn't know if it was truely beneficial or just a bunch of alternative medicine nonsense. That's why I was seeking other opinions.

inic
07-18-2002, 12:08 PM
I fast every 20 days for 30 hours.... more for religious issues, but also health. I just drink water; alot too! 2 gallons minimum. I take that day to relax and stretch a lot and study or whatever. and save some $! =)

inic
07-18-2002, 12:10 PM