PDA

View Full Version : Styles?

Kaga
07-23-2002, 10:35 AM
Hello all,

I have a question and it is a very broad and i apologize for that.. First let me explain my situation, I am a former TKD practitioner but stopped a few years ago. Recently I've been searching for something new and something that fits me best... I've researched so many styles but I'm just not sure what to do, and what would be best for me. I was hoping that people could suggest styles/schools for me? I live in the NYC area and am looking for something in the manhatten. I'm 6'4" 220lbs and the only thing I do now is weight lifting. Also I'm a college student so money is an issue.

Thanks in advance :)

yenhoi
07-23-2002, 10:42 AM
Tae Kwon Do.

- Cheap
- Social (you get to meet lots of people)
- Melting pot (depending on the association, you will be exposed to a variety of arts)
- Cardio
- Accessible (comercialization makes TKD shops open nearly 24/7 - offering classes of all skill levels at nearly any hour of the day.)

Once your in shape and ready to fight go look for a teacher.

Kaga
07-23-2002, 10:52 AM
I've already done TKD, got to 2nd degree black belt, but that means nothing....im looking for something less commercial.

thanx though

NatGun
07-23-2002, 03:54 PM
well, if you are looking for something completely different, i would go with Tai Chi, i am not a tai chi practitioner myself, but i have a friend who is a master, the stuff he has shown me, including the videos he let me borrow are really fantastic. tai chi develops internal energy which can be issued during a fight. before you join a school, make sure they teach tai chi as the full art, that means it must include sparring and push-hands, if they do not teach these parts of the art, you will just be taking an exercise class. some of the other guys can tell you more about tai chi, but from what i have seen, the full art is very impressive.

TaoBoy
07-23-2002, 04:49 PM
Kaga,

This is a tough question for us to answer.