PDA

View Full Version : Attn: Joseph

iron_silk
07-21-2001, 11:18 AM
Hi there it's me again! I realize for the CLF practicioners that "Jo-si" celebration(dan) is about occur soon and it had me start to think about my sifu. Although I never was a great student I always interested in the history of our kung fu, and I was wondering if you could perhaps
tell me something about your master, such as his/her name and his relation to my master and perhaps if possible a little background on your master. Give me your email or you can email me, this would be much appreciated. :)

extrajoseph
07-22-2001, 03:29 AM
I studied with a number of Chan Yiu-Chi's students both in Kwangchow and Hong Kong. All of them are dead now and they were not known out side of China so even if I tell you their names it would not make sense. I knew Master Tong Sek and his family well, he is my si-suk and your si-kung. He taught Wong Har in Hollywood Road, Hong Kong before he migrated to Canada.

Master Tong Sek, first studied with CLF with Wong Lek for 5 years, then he went to study with Chan Yiu-Chi for over 20 years before he left Kwangchow for Hong Kong. Master Tong was famous for his broadsword and taught in Hong Kong all his life until his death recently. He was a good bone-setter doctor as well. He has 2 sons now living in Hong Kong and Sydney and they are famous for their lion dance skills. Your sifu Wong Har is one of the more famous of his students. Others are now all over the world. Master Tong was a founding member of the Association in Memory of Chan Heung established in 1972 in Hong Kong. It was headed by Chan Kit-Fong, Chan Yiu-Chi's daughter and Ng Fu Heng's mother then. Both of them now live in Los Angeles.