PDA

View Full Version : Weight Distribution Revisited (for the umpteenth time...)

Zhuge Liang
07-25-2002, 02:38 PM
I thought a bit about the pros and cons of both the 50/50 distribution and the 0/100 distribution. On the whole, I agree that each method has its own advantages and disadvantages, and if you're good enough, you can minimize the disadvantages.

That being said, I would like some input on what I conceive as a 0/100 advantage. I'm not experienced enough to speak definitively on the subject, so rather, I want to see what some of the more experienced 50/50 propenents think of this.

One of the advantages of the 0/100 distribution that crossed my mind was the free use of your front leg while your hands are in contact. Let me clarify. If you're sensitive enough, you can detect what your opponent intends to do if you have already made contact. In a sample scenario, persons A and B have bridge contact via their hands. Person B attempts to kick. If person A is sensitive enough, person A may be able to sense the kick and counter/exploit.