PDA

View Full Version : hapkido

Former castleva
08-03-2002, 10:00 AM
I became very interested in this art a while ago.
For those with even less knowledge than me,itīs a korean art "of self-defense" and quite a lot more.
I wonder if there are any practitioners of this art (as in itīs original form,or other) or just about anyone with a single opinion or thoughts to share.
Letīs go for it!:)

dezhen2001
08-03-2002, 10:09 AM
it'll probably get moved to the other arts section :D

But anyway,
i did a little of it around the same time as i trained my aikido. It's similar in some ways, but has techniques that go against the way the body moves (joints etc), as well as some striking skills. Actually it reminds me of Shorinji Kempo a lot, which i studied for a while... containing fluid movement between striking and standing grappling range, as well as some really cool stuff :D They are skill si respect very much...

Dunno if that's they same type of Hapkido u do?
oh well :D

david

rogue
08-03-2002, 10:44 AM
Check out if the hand strikes, kicks, throws and joint locks all flow. I've seen some Hapkido where the parts never made a whole, kind of like bolting Aikido or JJ onto basic TKD, which is what the schools may have done. Good HKD should look complete and not like a collection of techniques. Check out it's sister arts Kuk Sool Wan and Hwarangdo too.

Former castleva
08-03-2002, 10:51 AM
From thread to another,eh:D
Thanks for the quick reply.
Yes,it is pretty similar to aikido in some ways (studied the art for a short time,along with theory) non-resistance,opponentīs force against him and circular movement with many other points.
"Dunno if that's they same type of Hapkido u do?" Thanks for the respect,but Iīm not "into" it just yet.:)
Iīm familiar with shorinji kempo theory too,there are similarities,it seems...soft technique-hard technique etc.
But hapkido approach is,luckily,itīs own.
"but has techniques that go against the way the body moves (joints etc), "