PDA

View Full Version : A seminar with George Xu

I.M. Toast
08-06-2002, 01:05 AM
Greetings:
I attended a seminar given by George Xu last Saturday, and all I can say is "Man, what an eye-opener". He completely changed some of my impressions of Taichichuan and gave several impressive demonstrations of internal strength.
His main focus was on using the dantien as the center of strength, and performing each move with "whole body strength". He examined each student while they were performing each move, and told them where they were disconnected internally.
He also metioned that Hsing-I was a great method for strengthening the dantien and whole body connection, but it was a "stupid art" (I think he acutally ment simplistic or unrefined) compared to taichi. He said "With Hsing-i, I can use dantien to break a piano; with taichi, I can use dantien to play a piano".
Since I am new to the internal arts, and TCM in general, I asked him if a beginner such as I should start with Hsing-i to develop the Dantien and whole body connection. He replied that if he was starting new that he would copy what my instructor did externally, then try to bring out internal power to repeat the same motions, then use solely internal strength to move. I don't know if he didn't understand the question, or I don't understand the answer.
Anyhow, I still don't know "how" to have whole-body connection, and to use dantien power in the hand, etc. Heck, I am still not sure where to start in my study of the internal arts. But at least I have an idea where I am headed. I guess that you could say that I am really in over my head, but I think I know which way is up.
If I can remember any other pearls of knowledge, I'll let you know.

I.M.T.

crumble
08-06-2002, 07:19 AM
Originally posted by I.M. Toast