PDA

View Full Version : Beginner needs help

Jables
08-07-2002, 09:10 AM
Hello all,

Not only am I new to the forums here, but I am also new to Kung Fu. I've been taking Hung Gar for about 3 months now and I enjoy it greatly, but I was wondering if there were any good books out there on Hung Gar that I might use to supplement my learning. Thanks all for any help you can offer.

Jables

joedoe
08-07-2002, 09:53 PM
Best to train more with your sifu than to try and learn from a book.

Tristan
08-08-2002, 06:17 AM
Joedoe

But reading some books might be very enjoyable!!

T.

GreyMystik
08-08-2002, 09:19 AM
i agree with joe, your sifu by far will be your best learning source, but if it's history and other info you're looking for, it's probably not a bad idea to read up on some things...

while i can't recommend any specific books at this time, there are plenty of good websites that you can learn information from about Hung Gar. keep in mind alot of this stuff will be general info but nonetheless much of it is useful and interesting.

http://www.hungga.net

http://home.earthlink.net/~chiuchiling/

http://www.hungkuen.net/

http://www.geocities.com/hkhunggar/

http://www.yeeshungga.com/

another good forum that you may want to consider posting on is
http://www.forumco.com/hungkuennet/

good luck and train hard!

tomcat
08-08-2002, 08:37 PM
Hi Jables,
You should ask your Sifu,what he recomends,as some lineages of Hung-Gar tend disagree.
I have found a good book on history,lineages,legends ,etc. It's title isTraditional Hung Gar Kung fu, by Sifu Jamal Al Bakkar. It's kind of pricy 75.00 +3.00 shipping the address is P.O box188854 ,Raleigh,N.C,27619 .
Or If you have started Gung-Gee (some schools teach it 1st) you might check out the book by Lam Sai Wing, but be sure to get a translation with it, Check out web at www.Quandaoman.com ? not sure about the spelling on that one .
Good luck with your training! P.S Quandaoman may also carry the book by Jamal.
Later,Tomcat

Jables