PDA

View Full Version : More Temple Kung Fu

Sifu shawn
08-09-2002, 04:51 PM
Hello to all that argue about Simon, TKF< kempo etc.

I will not tell anyone about how TKF practices business. I have never trained at a TKF club. But I will tell you this, I am a 2nd generation student of Simons lineage. And anyone who has doubts about what they are learning, and how effective it is is probably spending more time looking at themselves, then at there training, and techniques.
My Instructor trained at Simons Kung Fu in Calgary and Edmonton in the 1970's. Master Trevor Higgs was the Manager of the Calgary club. He was my Instructors teacher. Master Higgs is a phenomenal Martial artist I have trained with him myself. There are 3 black belts who are true products of Master Higgs.(who by the way trained directly under Simon himself. My instructor watched Master Simon and Master Higgs spar) These 3 black belts have taken multiple Black belt tournament grandchampionships. I am a 2nd degree black belt under one of these men, and have taken numerous top placings in tournaments as have all of our students. The Moo kempo system as it was called in the 70's is a very solid foundation. I have Trained it along with other arts, it compliments the other arts very well. Anyone who thinks they have a pure traditional system that is the end all be all is brainwashed. There is good things to come from all systems. So to say that the system has flaws, duh. Which one does not. Cross training is a must. Simon started doing that way back when. His system is mixed. In the 60's his art was called budo-ryu kempo. I have seen it on programs from USA Tournaments in the ( this program was from the 60's I beleive or early 70's) Simons Budo- ryu kempo. It was Japanese. Him and Parker were partners in the tournament. Master Hilbig was the tournament secretary/ treasurer.