PDA

View Full Version : question about good martial artists??

killorbe
08-13-2002, 06:53 PM
Why don't any of the good instructors out there compete or do any of them compete in any eventsd to display their skills against another,, if I was a martial arts instructor, I would be willing to fight to prove to my students that im no fraud? i know thjey probably can beat the crap out of there students. what about other instructors though? I know this might sound a bit childish but how good and how much do you have to do to prove yourseklf!

SevenStar
08-13-2002, 08:50 PM
I'm all for competition. I love to step in the ring. I'm not out to prove anything though, I just like to compete. It's a driving force - pushes me to continually train harder and maintain my edge. That being said though - competing is a personal choice. If you are confident in your skill, why do you have to prove anything to anyone?

yenhoi
08-14-2002, 11:56 AM
neways.

If you are talking JKD specific instructors, the ones you see publically all the time, or at least thier names, such as Paul Vulnak etc, have consistently 'proved' thier skills in the past.

If you have already passed the middle-school entrance exam, why would you continue taking the test for 15 more years?

SevenStar
08-14-2002, 06:05 PM
neways?

yenhoi
08-15-2002, 07:11 AM
yenhoi'nese for 'anyways'

Mr. Bao
08-15-2002, 09:02 AM
Instructors who go out their way to beat up people to defend his status as a bad ass or the best fighter in the world is not what I call an enlightened person. It is down right ignorance.

Bao

SevenStar
08-15-2002, 10:13 PM
lol, I know what neways is :) I meant, what were you saying that for? Something I said, or something he said?

TaiChiBob
08-16-2002, 04:23 AM
Greetings..