PDA

View Full Version : Chi Sau against Big Arm

black and blue
08-14-2002, 01:49 AM
Was training last night (a rough one - got elbowed in the eye) and had big, big problems.

I'm pretty new to Chi Sau so if the answer is obvious to this question, please humour me and reply in simple terms :)

The guy I was working out with is about 16 stone (compared to my 12 and a quarter stone) and built like a brick sh*thouse. His arms are huge - about twice the meat than on mine.

When I Chi Sau with him the size of his arms alone seems to close gaps/attacking angles, esp. if I'm trying to attack the neck (I'm not really trying for cheap shots to the shoulder ;)).

How can I use his bulk against him? I tried pivoting and turning to create new angles, but as expected he mirrors my movements. The two of us are the same grade, and about the same standard I'd say. My advantage is that I'm perhaps a little more relaxed and a little faster - his advantage is that he's got arms I just can't see to get past/through.

Any off the cuff ideas?

S.Teebas
08-14-2002, 02:14 AM
My advantage is that I'm perhaps a little more relaxed

So work on sensitivity. Forget his arms and attack the body.

Mr Punch
08-14-2002, 02:16 AM
My immediate, unconsidered and typically hurried response is:

keep practising!

Not very helpful eh?

OK...

don't worry about dynamics with tricky opponents specifically just yet if you're relatively new to chi sao.

Soften. Use the opportunity to check your structure (and rooting). The softer you are in this case, the less you'll telegraph. And don't rely on speed right now, keep it slow, even if you get tagged... it's better to practise precision in your structure, and when to yield to bring him on to your strikes.

How's his energy? Forward, downward, reluctant, hesistant, non-existant...?!