PDA

View Full Version : Berkeley/Oakland Bagua & Xingyi

Tomhands
08-19-2002, 03:03 PM
I'm new to the East Bay (Berkeley/Oakland) and would like to resume my bagua training soon.

Can I get some tips on bagua or bagua/xingyi clubs in the area? (Kick-ass taiji club recommendations are welcome too. )

Anybody have experience with the UC Berkeley Taiji Club?

Thanks.

GeneChing
08-19-2002, 04:52 PM
He has a school in Oakland and San Leandro, although mostly he's at San Leandro now. I've been studying Xingyi under himrecently and have found it to be quite enlightening. www.omeikungfu.com

I.M. Toast
08-19-2002, 06:45 PM
Greetings:
Ah, I see that I now have another East Bay Internal arts practitioner with me here on the board.

The group at www.stillnessinmotion.com come highly recommended. I haven't checked it out yet because Albany isn't very close to San Leandro/San Lorenzo where I live.
I wrote to Alvin Chew concerning his Wu style TJ teacher, and it is his impression that he does not teach it as a fighting art. I still intend on checking it out for myself.
I live about two miles form the O-mei acadamy, in San Leandro. I was going to check it out, but the terms wushu, taichi, and healing art kept popping up on the website and scared me off.
Also, I have a short list of chen Taichi teachers in Oakland and Livermore. If your interested, I can post them.

I.M.T.

Tomhands
08-20-2002, 10:51 AM
I.M., please do post that short list. thanks for emailing Alvin. sounds like a pass on the Wu teacher, if your interpretation of the email is correct. care to elaborate?

GeneChing
08-20-2002, 11:29 AM