PDA

View Full Version : Work out advice

IllusoryNeptune
08-26-2002, 09:40 AM
Hi,

I'm thinking about adopting a workout routine but am unsure of how to put one together, since I have never done this before. My goals include increasing my strength, stamina, flexibility and increased muscle definition. I am not interested in gaining a large amout of muscle mass as I do not want to lose flexibility and because I wan't to keep a smaller figure. As a fulltime student, I don't have time to go to the gym during the week so I would rather attempt to do this all at home. I was thinking about purchasing some weights, but have no idea what to buy. I'm 6'0 and weigh 185; down from 230 due to kung fu. I'm still slightly heavy and feel that my ideal weight ranges from 170-175, though perhaps not because my frame is slightly on the large side. I'm open to tips, websites, book recommendations. Anything to get me started. Thanks in advance.

IN

Suntzu
08-26-2002, 09:57 AM
when I was in school, I had 1 dumbell w/ 2 10's, 2 5's and 21/2's, and could do a whole body workout… I suggest you get a goodset of adjustable dumbells and keep them where you have to see them to remind you to use them… I kept mine right by my bed…

*I would suggest* that you start out with a bodybuilding type routine so your body gets used to moving weight, joints and tendons get stronger and you get used to doing a routine… do that for atleast a month maybe one or two more… however long floats your boat... sample workouts can be found anywhere... get a Man Health mag or something...

After you get a lil stronger… get more weights maybe join a gym… use heavy weights, fewer reps and more sets… learn to do bigger movements like the squat, deadlifts, push press, etc… make sure you learn how to do them correctly… but still do the 'isolated' movements and add in the larger movements...