PDA

View Full Version : Listen Up! Possible Wing Chun magazine

black and blue
08-28-2002, 06:50 AM
As some of you might know, when I'm not posting here, training, fooling about with my girlfriend etc etc, I work as a journalist.

Several friends are also in publishing. Together, we are thinking about putting together a magazine dedicated to WING CHUN/WING TSUN/VING TSUN/WING TJUN... as you can see... no politics... the more lineage differences the better as far as we're concerned.

The process of research, circulation, print, production etc, is extensive... and at the moment people are scraping together ideas, formats, cost projections etc.

MY QUESTIONS FOR 'YOU' ON THE FORUM:

If such a magazine were on the market, what would you want it to include?

What sections, articles would you like to see? Who would you like to see contributing?

What would make you want to BUY a monthly Wing Chun publication?

Duncan

Atleastimnotyou
08-28-2002, 07:00 AM
i think it would be quite difficult to put a mag. like this together since most of the views would be contradicting. I would buy this mag if it had articles on/with Ken Chung, but that is just my bias. I think other lineages would want to see articles about their lineages too.. So good luck!

black and blue
08-28-2002, 07:08 AM
The differences in point of view, methods, approach are what we consider a 'plus'. I think one of the interesting things about the Rene Richie et al book (Complete Wing Chun) was its diversity.

Atleastimnotyou - Who else from Ken's family would you like to contribute? Anything in particular you'd like to read about?

Many of the Wing Chunners I know buy a martial arts mag when it has a single Wing Chun article in it. They don't care much for the other articles, they shell out cash for a 2-4 page interview.

Anyone else have any thoughts?

reneritchie
08-28-2002, 08:08 AM