PDA

View Full Version : tournament wins

shaun
09-05-2002, 11:49 PM
hey guys, i'm a newbie here and i wanted to ask this question.

i'm not bashing wing chun or anything, in fact i'm kinda interested in learning it, but i was wondering why i dont see many wing chun guys win in no holds barred tournaments or UFC?

thanks...

Martial Joe
09-06-2002, 02:37 AM
Probably because most those guys who know wing chun dont know how to fight on the ground.

The guys who do arent good enough. Like me.

Id like to see a good wing chun guy fight in Pride under K-1 Rules because he wouldnt have to worry about the ground.

Merryprankster
09-06-2002, 03:36 AM
Id like to see a good wing chun guy fight in Pride under K-1 Rules because he wouldnt have to worry about the ground.

Yeah, cause, after all, if you can't win by the real rules, just keep changing the rules a bit until you can :D Kidding, martial joe, kidding...

Shaun--you're going to get some really stupid answers to this question, mark my words... but the conclusion I've come too is...

Most WC guys, and CMAists in general, just don't care.

shaun
09-06-2002, 08:58 PM
isnt there like prize money involved?

since wing chun guys cant fight on the ground, does it mean that wing chun isnt a good martial art for street fighting?

Grendel
09-06-2002, 09:11 PM
Originally posted by shaun
hey guys, i'm a newbie here and i wanted to ask this question.

i'm not bashing wing chun or anything, in fact i'm kinda interested in learning it, but i was wondering why i dont see many wing chun guys win in no holds barred tournaments or UFC?

thanks...
There is no such thing as a no holds barred tournament. Such a thing would be tantamount to an Old West shootout. Yet, a true unvarnished martial art, which Wing Chun is, cannot be made into a sport, which is what a tournament is.

Regards,

shaun
09-06-2002, 09:15 PM