PDA

View Full Version : Which Style Tai Chi Chaun

dre_doggX
09-09-2002, 01:21 PM
I am studying the Yang Lu Chan basic form of Tai jiquan, from Erles book, he also has a book called Reflex Violence, that teaches instinct fighting and such. People say the Cheng Fu version has taken out alot of the Fa-Jing out of the form, and this is what most people know the derviations of the Yang Cheng Fu, intending for healing. but the Yang Lu Chan form which was made by Cheng Fus grandfather Lu Chan, is about dimmak and has all types of fajing. espeacially in its advance levels.

Which style do you do and which you like better.

If you you want to see some of these free books go to.

www.taijiworld.com and click the free downloadable books.

taijiquan_student
09-09-2002, 01:42 PM
Zheng Man Qing, Yang (Lu Chan) style, different from Erle's YLC form.

gazza99
09-09-2002, 01:48 PM
A book can be good reference, especially when it comes to a long form. But you really need to see the movement. I would recommend at the very least getting the video on it. Erle also has a series of 8 tapes on the one form, Very detailed instructon.
Or find a good taiji teacher in the area....

Gary

Walter Joyce
09-09-2002, 02:03 PM
As far as I know, there is nothing to support Erle's claim that the form he practices is the same form as Yang Luchan practiced.

Does anyone know of any historical sources to support his claim?

Nanking '28
09-09-2002, 02:35 PM
I study Chen Pan Ling Tai Chi...
I also study Yang Cheng Fu style...

Chen Pan Ling is really cool...

Brad
09-09-2002, 02:44 PM
As far as I know, there is nothing to support Erle's claim that the form he practices is the same form as Yang Luchan practiced.