PDA

View Full Version : centreline and open faceups

ged
10-08-2001, 02:06 PM
since i started kung fu (dont bother going to my profile - about 7 months, im a beginner) ive had a choice between two different hand positions. the first is a centreline faceup - i think its pretty similar to wing chun. hands in centre, deflect incoming punches outwards. the other one is with your two hands 'open', elbows down, hands about as far apart as your opponents fists. (its from southern mantis). the idea is for attacking punches to come in through the middle gap, and for you to bring your hands inwards and deflect them away.

soon after i first started, i decided to concentrate on the open faceup. but the other night, sifu demonstrated the centre line faceup for about 5 minutes with a disi heng attacking, and it looked very effective, very easy. i approached a disi heng after training, and told him i was having trouble deciding which one to use. being careful not to degrade the open faceup, he reccommended using centre line as the best defensive option.

now, for those whove read all that crap - can you please give me advice? that particular disi heng uses centre line a lot (so it could of been biased), and i know of another one that uses mantis a lot. i could (and will) train both, but i want to be able to defend myself before the end of this year, and id like to concentrate on one hand faceup.

if you have time, and you use either centre line or a mantis stance that deflects attacks inwards, can you write me a few lines on how realistic it is, and your experience with it?

thanks.

origenx
10-08-2001, 02:57 PM