PDA

View Full Version : Random thoughts of a partially insane guy...

MightyB
09-13-2002, 10:30 AM
I've been doing kung fu for about 9 years, and about a year ago I competed in my first san shou match. I got beaten, not too bad, but it was a humbling experience...

I've learned a couple of things since then, especially about what a real martial artist is.

First: there is no real fighter who isn't a MMA. You have to be MMA if you want to win in the ring, or survive on the street.

Second: the more complex the technique, the least likely that you'll ever be able to use it.

Third: Being a martial artist doesn't make you special. It doesn't even have much of an effect on how good of a fighter you are. How many times have you seen a person who was supposably a Black Belt get their arse handed to them on the street against somebody who has no training? Being a martial artist may actually be a hindrance to street survival. I've heard of and have seen instances where it makes people go against their senses. For example, the martial artist who decides to walk down the dark alley instead of the well lighted street because they felt that wearing pajamas and playing slap tag for two hours a week made them invincible. Or the person who hesitated to duck an incoming blow because there teacher said that ducking and weaving makes your head vulnerable to a knee or kick. Or, the worse case scenario-- the martial artist who appoints themself as a mystic sheepherder who is somehow smarter and better than everybody else-- aka "the enlightened-pajama-wearing-slap-tagger" or his meditating counterpart, "the chi-hippi".