PDA

View Full Version : Can I overstretch my arms?

xqr74
09-13-2002, 12:51 PM
Hello,
I am a 1 year student and new to this forum. I was wondering if anybody had some opinions on arm stretching. When I first started Sifu told me that my arms would get shorter doing WC. At the time, I didn't think much of it. Now, after a years worth of drills & jow, I can feel how my arms are changing. My question is, I love to completely stretch out often, but is this good for my arms, considering they usually feel tight now. Also, will this effect power, etc., Maybe some of you can give some insight.

Thanxs

:)
Chuck

Atleastimnotyou
09-13-2002, 01:14 PM
i have never heard of arms getting shorter... especially in wing chun. Is that even physically possible?

Chuck, why do your arms feel tight? wing chun should relax you

S.Teebas
09-13-2002, 04:18 PM
I was wondering if anybody had some opinions on arm stretching.

No need to stretch in WC, only move.

When I first started Sifu told me that my arms would get shorter doing WC.

No idea why he thinks this. Ask him and lets us know.

My question is, I love to completely stretch out often, but is this good for my arms, considering they usually feel tight now.

Stretching is good for your body, but not required for WC.

Also, will this effect power

If your arms are tence then the force gets stuck where tension is present. - also effect your abiltiy to be sensitive, wont be able to react from body correctly if force is stuck in arms. WC is about using your whole body, not just arms..forget your arms for now.

xqr74
09-13-2002, 09:17 PM
Thank you guys for your replies.