PDA

View Full Version : Lack of confidence?

red5angel
09-18-2002, 11:11 AM
I have noticed a trend over the last few weeks on the forum about how to make wingchun work with different attacks or styles. The taichi thread, the multiple grappling thread. It distresses me that people might not be as confident in their wingchun as they should be. Why would that be?

For me it used to be that way, I was never real confident the stuff I was learning would work, the same with my karate classes in high school. After digging around however, the stuff I am training now, the focus on the basics, the key principles of wingchun, the internal aspects, the hard and the soft I am extremely confident that what I am learning will work, against grapplers, against other wingchun people, against anyone who might come to me looking for a fight! I still stick to my claim and my belief that I am studying something that is much more deep then most of the stuff out there. Its not complicated, but some like to make it so. I am not looking to knock on other lineages, it’s a waste of time, but you do have to ask yourself, are you confident in what you are learning. Will it work for you when it all comes down, when that grappler goes for the shoot, or that muy thai guy clinches?

reneritchie
09-18-2002, 11:26 AM
Lao Tzu said the greatest tragedy is underestimating your opponent. Confidence in your art/lineage is one thing. Confidence in yourself is another. Can you do it when you have to is the only berometer. Doesn't matter what your sifu or sigung can do (or what you think they can do - it ain't always the same thing, or what you heard they could do - fishing stories are always grand), or whatever other delusions get you through the day. Only matters what you can do, when you need to do it. (And if you're lucky enough never to need to do it, then it never matters).