PDA

View Full Version : Eagle claw kung-fu

Shaolin Fighter
09-26-2002, 11:44 AM
Has anybody here haved studied Eagle claw kung-fu? If so do you like it and is it a good means of self-defense? Are there any joint locking techniques and if so are they realistic in today's world? I'm just trying to find out some info before I study this art. Thankyou in advance...

ngokfei
09-29-2002, 09:36 PM
yep

Chin Na (kahm Na) ie: joint locks is the trade mark of the style.

I like it. Northern Shaolin Long Fist Basics, Fan Tzi stepping and whipping power. Ying Jow: Joint Locking and Vital STriking skills.

What more could you want from one style.:)

Snake
10-11-2002, 11:12 AM
Hi! i've been studying Eagle Claw for a few years now, and I can only echo the comments made above. I really enjoy the system, although it can be on the complex side, I enjoy the challenge. :) Lots of joint locks and a lot of techniques that are excellent in self defense.

Tainan Mantis
10-11-2002, 11:13 PM
Do any of you Eagle Claw people practice 8 Step Continuous punches?

Ben Gash
10-17-2002, 03:54 PM
To be honest it doesn't really use any more Chin Na than any other longarm style, they just make a bigger deal out of it. The forms look largely like longfist. It's a good, solid system and I'd certainly recommend it.

SETANSI
10-17-2002, 04:20 PM
from training Choi Lay Fut since 1986 I have a good Idea what long fist looks like. My gwoon did a demo in castro valley with Jeanie lau's Eagle Claw School. From what I saw there Eagle Claw is a Northern Style and very different from long fist wich is a southern style .
dont know many who think they are similar

Brad
10-17-2002, 09:53 PM
Most longfist systems are northern :confused:

Arhat of Fury
10-18-2002, 09:01 AM
from my understanding longfist is southern.
Brad are you sure?

AOF

GeneChing
10-18-2002, 09:33 AM
Hers's some videos to get you started:
http://store.yahoo.com/martialartsmart/vid72joinloc.html