PDA

View Full Version : For the VTM Shaolin experts

scuba steve
09-26-2002, 12:36 PM
Gentlemen (Richard and Chango),

Master Loewenhagen has stated that the VTM staff and Chango have well over 20 years each of Shaolin systems experience, in addition to their backgrounds in Moy Yat Wing Chun, Tae Kwon Do and Hung Fa Yi Wing Chun. As such I would consider you then to have a strong amount of expertise in Shaolin.

I would be quite interested then in hearing about which Shaolin arts the 3 seeds of Wing Chun namely Tan Sau, Bong Sau and Fook Sau are derived from.

I will also add that I have no background in Shaolin systems myself, which is why I defer to you gentlemen. From the books, videos, movies and still photographs of Shaolin arts I have not seen the "goat gripping stance", chung choy battle punches or the 3 seeds displayed in Shaolin systems such as 18 Lohan. Perhaps I've missed them.

If you could refer me to which arts to look at for these elements of Shaolin DNA I would appreciate it. Then I can go do some further looking on my own to find these key DNA markers for Wing Chun within these Shaolin systems.

Thanks in advance!

planetwc
09-26-2002, 01:02 PM
Interesting question Steve,

My followup question to either you or the VTM folks is, what kind of documentation is there on the existence of Yat Chum Dai Si as a person within the Shaolin community?

In doing web searches for that particular name, I only find reference to it from Wing Chun websites and not from Shaolin related websites. Isn't it rather odd that the 22nd generation grandmaster is not mentioned by any other southern shaolin school by this name?

For example the Shaolin Do history (http://www.shaolin-do.com/masters/index.shtml)s tates that Su Kong Tai Djin was the last Fukien Shaolin temple grandmaster.

http://www.angelfire.com/ky/shaolindo/grandmastersukong.html
http://www.angelfire.com/ky/shaolindo/history.html

Chango
09-26-2002, 09:08 PM
Hello Scuba steve.