PDA

View Full Version : So you want to be a black belt, huh?

TaoBoy
09-29-2002, 09:45 PM
I read the below article today...

What is a black belt? (http://www.orlandokuntao.com/master_frameset_whatsa_bb.html)

...and it got me wondering - how long does it take (on average) for a student to reach black belt in your style/system?

apoweyn
09-30-2002, 07:36 AM
took me five years. but i studied taekwondo for another five years prior to that. so by the time i got a black belt, i had a cumulative ten years of experience.

for all the difference it makes.

my friend matt got his black belt in taekwondo years before i got mine in eskrima. and he told me at the time (high school), "you think it's going to change everything, but i feel exactly like i did yesterday."

i think that says it all.

SwaiingDragon
09-30-2002, 08:35 AM
I've got three of them in three different arts....right now they're only good for holding up my pants....

All my Shifu's can still beat my a** -

I read somewhere that traditionally if you recieve your black belt , you have only mastered the basics- i guees that's true

apoweyn
09-30-2002, 08:49 AM
I read somewhere that traditionally if you recieve your black belt , you have only mastered the basics- i guees that's true

that's what they say, yeah. but even that isn't a guarantee.

Chang Style Novice
09-30-2002, 08:53 AM
Black belts don't have that much fun.

I want to be a pair of low-rider, hiphugger blue jeans!

apoweyn
09-30-2002, 08:57 AM
and now that i've actually taken the time to read the article...

very good read. the whole paper money-martial arts analogy is a bit unwieldy. but whatever. the main point was beautiful.

stuart

neptunesfall
09-30-2002, 09:06 AM
7-8 yrs for shuai chiao, 10 yrs for kung fu.

NorthernMantis
09-30-2002, 09:13 AM
Belts are for non chinese styles. Well except shai chiao, for some reason it doesn't bother me that hey have belts.

rubthebuddha
09-30-2002, 09:14 AM