PDA

View Full Version : To All JKD'ers

NeedsPractice
10-19-2002, 04:13 PM
A few questions

1- How many of you have practiced other styles before JKD?and what style/art if you did .

2- Do you personally find JKD better for you personally than what you studied before if you did study something before.

3- Was/is Bruce Lee the main motivator for you to study JKD?

4- JKD seems to be of the same vein as mma/ UFC except UFC type stuff doesnt emphasize kali/escrima and trapping?

Looking for reasonable answers no troll stuff. Looking for answers based on your own experience, not interested in stuff about why bruce lee started jkd/ jun fan.

yenhoi
10-19-2002, 04:31 PM
1- I studied Wing Chun before JKD.

2- Yes. Our JKD lacks a 'this is done because thats how it is' aspect. This is done because it works.

3- No. I study JKD because that is what my teacher teaches. He has kung-fu, and someday, so will I.

4- JKD is hard to clamp any sort of definition on. Goto any JKD school/academy and they will not be the same in very many aspects whatsoever. Not all JKD academys emphasize Kali/escrima, and some have discounted trapping altogether. Teachers teach, not styles.

Darkwind3773
10-19-2002, 08:44 PM
1. I have any currently still am studying Tae Kwon Do.

2. Yes, mainly because (to me at least) experimentation is key. You look for what suites you best and then discard everything that is useless so that you can do the most with the least.

3. At first, yes, because of his amazing condition and martial abilities. Now, I look at him more as a guide, and he is no longer why I study. It's based more on the principles of directness and economy.

4. UFC stuff is more or less a ring sport, while JKD is for street use. Different situations bring about different solutions. So while MMA and JKD may be similar, you've got to remember that JKD cuts off what is unneccessary.

LEGEND
10-20-2002, 03:06 PM
A few questions