PDA

View Full Version : SPARRING

T
10-18-2000, 07:32 PM
I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW, OF THE PRACTITIONERS OUT THERE - I MEAN THE ONES WHO HAVE TRAINED FOR SOME TIME - HOW LONG DID IT TAKE UNTIL YOU FELT COMFORTABLE SPARRING WITH THIS ART (WHILE USING IT'S TECHNIQUES)? NOW I UNDERSTAND THIS DEPENDS ON THE INTENSITY OF YOUR TRAINING, BUT IN GENERAL, HOW LONG?

Kung Lek
10-22-2000, 02:53 AM
Hi-

I have been training in the same school and art(s) for going on 7 years.
For me anyway, I think I was in my 3rd year before I really started to get a fair understanding of teh art I was practicing from a martial viewpoint and in practice.
I did have knowledge of other arts and found the techniques to be a little more basic and easy to grasp and unfortunately my sparring style was primarily those arts for a while. this may have been a hinderance to my understanding of CMA in application.

There is still quite a lot of "unusual" techniques in the art(s) I study now that I don't really know how to apply correctly yet. But hey, nobody told me I would learn this stuff in three easy payments. hahahaha.

peace

Kung Lek

T
10-22-2000, 07:54 PM
Kung lek,
I have been studying this art for about 13 yrs. I have a tendency to revert back to my San Shao and western boxing skills while sparring. However I find that once I lock up with an opponent my Hung Ga skills are of great benefit to me. Now, I don't mean the actual techniques, I mean the movements behind the techniques, the angles, body positioning and the footwork. These elements of this style make me a better fighter. But as far as the actual techniques in sparring - I still am not comfortable enough to stick with what you learn in 2 man sparring drills. Self defense tecniques I find are more than excellent, very powerfull and truly work.

Kung Lek
10-22-2000, 08:14 PM
Hi-