PDA

View Full Version : Forms

tri2bmt
10-28-2002, 09:51 PM
Hey, I'm quite new to wing chun as I only learned the first form before I had to move to the country and now I have no teacher. I was wondering if any of you guys could recommend a book on the second and third forms as I'd really like to learn them.

Jeff Preston
10-28-2002, 11:31 PM
Tri2bmt, You can'nt learn everything you need from a book. You need a Sifu or older class member to help you along. You could read a book on Wing Chun but, do you think you can grasp everything their saying. One mistake and you could be a mile away from what they are asking you to do. Experience from a Sifu will make it a shorter trip. Hope this helps.

Martial Joe
10-29-2002, 01:50 AM
Where do you live?

Maybe there is some schools around you.

tri2bmt
10-29-2002, 10:53 AM
I realize that I need a sifu but there is none near me and I want to continue to study. THis way, with the foundation built during my year and a half with my sifu, i can expand and whenever i find a new sifu, he can correct me. IF there are no books than fine. But if there is I would really like to know the titles and at least apply the principals of the first form to the others.

Jeff Preston
10-29-2002, 11:11 AM
There are good books,but who do you want to study from is the Question.

tri2bmt
10-29-2002, 01:41 PM
My teacher taught a style that could be traced more or less to Ip CHun. I read his book and the hand placement, tension required and arrangement of movements were the same. So something along those lines. I just need to learn the footwork of the second and third forms and I really want to learn the shooting fingers set.

yenhoi
10-29-2002, 05:15 PM
My advice would be do do the first form, and stance training, and any footwork drills your first sifu gave you. Those are the drills and forms and stance that you will be training the most anyways, regardless if you know the 2nd and 3rd form and the associated drills.