PDA

View Full Version : educate me please

jeizen
03-11-2000, 04:02 AM
I am only familiar with japanese fighting arts. I was also told that jiu jitsu is a complete art. Where I live now shotokan rules, meaning that there are mainly shotokan schools here. Their methods of training are rigid and in my opinion do not cater for real life fighting. How do you guys train? I would like to know what you guys do to reach the final stage of getting techniques subconsciously, you know fighting without thinking consciously.

Brat
03-11-2000, 10:06 AM
First of all, Jiu Jitsu is not a complete fighting art-no art is. At what level in Shotokan are you? I've found that in the Korean and Japanese styles, that you don't learn a lot of practical combat until you reach about the third belt level from white. I'm generalizing of course, but I have found it to be true in most of the styles Ive been in contact with. I'm just a beginner in Kung Fu, but I have 15 years experience in other martial arts. About the best advice that I can give you is that if Shotokan is the only style taught in your area, then youd probably best stick with that. You will learn a whole lot of valuable techniques, and when you are advanced enough you can debate the practicality of what you've been taught. Also you will get the chance to spar with other people. "Hands on" is crucial to learning how to fight. And make friends with people who practice other styles and spar with them. This is about the best way to gain experience I know of.

jeizen
03-12-2000, 05:22 AM
Thanks Brat. I am not a member of shotokan. I used to be but dropped out at white belt. A bit pre maturely ,maybe. Where I used to train the sensei had not had any grading sessions for the year that I was there.