PDA

View Full Version : Bodyweight vs Weight training

Ford Prefect
10-29-2002, 02:25 PM
I used to be a staunch a bodyweight advocate. I though BWE (body weight exercises) were better for functional strength and had a smaller risk of injury, etc etc. I could do one-arm pull-ups/push-ups and pistols AKA one legged squats. I could do these in the truckload too. I used to laugh at the stories of body builders and powerlifters who would struggle with BWE's and also at my friends who lifted weights and couldn't do the BWE's either.

Then, I started lifting weights. After a while of training and being able to see things from both sides of the fence, I came to realize one thing:

Working up to squatting 400 lbs (an unimpressive weight) is a hell of a lot harder than learning to do the pistol.

While there are 300 lbs mountains of men who are the exception, this is generally the rule. In fact, I think that is the reason for the popularity of the whole BWE craze. It took me under a month to be able to do 500 straight Hindu Squats. That was perceived as some milestone; A great thing to build off of. Working up to squatting double my bodyweight on a barbell was a lot harder and more time consuming. Take a powerlifter who can bench 500 lbs and a guy that can do 200 hindu push-ups. I guarantee that the powerlifter will be able to train to do 200 hindu push-ups months or years before the other guy trains to bench 500 lbs.

The average person can reach goals in BWE a lot sooner and easier than with the weights. With weights, you spend time toiling (in public in most cases) under unimpressive poundages. You have to cycle exercises and poundages correctly in order to keep your gains going. You have to diet effectively in order to keep your gains going. Etc. Most of the time it will seem like you are making little or no progress, which is frusterating and leads to most people giving up the weights.