PDA

View Full Version : Li Family Kung Fu

apeters28
10-30-2002, 07:29 PM
Li Family Kung Fu, I was taught, came out of the Fukien Shaolin Temple, and after it was burned down by the government troops. Supposedly five ancestors escaped the temple, one of them being Li Shih Kaik, who travelled and taught this style. Does anyone here know anything about this style, or what it consists of? If you have any information about it, that would be great.

Thank you,

Andrew

Shaolin Master
10-31-2002, 09:21 PM
There are many Li styles per se :

eg

Li Style Taijiquan (Li Yi Yu's)
Li Style Zha Quan (Moslem)
Li Style Shaolin (There are a few in both north and south regions)
Li Family Teachings (Hakka)
Li Family Fist (Guangdong)

So which one specifically: Careful some of the southern martial art histories were based on novels and legends.

For example
Li Shi Kai
Li Pa Shan
Li You Shan

are three ancestral founders of Li style.

I studied Li style of the Hakka traditional in my youth and recently I have commenced study in the Guangdong Li style.

The Hakka style originally only had the 18 hands of Luohan set and many staff sets. Now in HongKong a redeveloped style exist.

The Guangdong style attributes its founder as Li You Shan of XinHui City. It is said that the five shapes of shaolin were combined into one forming the present day style. It emphasises false stance and false body which means that the body and stance are unclear not specific between all shapes. The sets are short and linke like a chain it is a fairly close fighting system.
Some of the sets include : Wu Lien Shou, Zhong Liu Lien and Chi Lien Shou as well as Zi Wu Lien Huan Gun at the fundamental level.

Regards
Wu Chan Long

apeters28
11-01-2002, 12:37 PM
The style that I study under supposedly was founded by Li Shi Kaik and was passed on through generations. Thank you Shaolin Master, your post has been the most helpful that I've received on here.

Andrew

ZhouJiaQuan
11-01-2002, 02:20 PM