PDA

View Full Version : What do you really want to read in a Kung Fu book?

Phu Le
11-02-2002, 06:46 PM
I'm a student of the current head of 'Tung Kong Chow's Family Praying Mantis (Chow Gar Tong Long)...

I've been meaning to have Sifu write a book on Chow Gar as there is really nothing published on our art, so my question is, what do people most want to read about?

An instruction manual?

History book?

Or theories?

See if you can give me a contents list of some sort, or even a book layout you recommend...

Thanks.

Phu Le

Ao Qin
11-02-2002, 08:42 PM
Hi Phu Le,

I think that any effort to share your art with others is commendable, and any sincere effort will be well appreciated by others who are interested in Chow Gar, or related arts. You can never know how many lives you may touch through such a publication.

I would vote for a general overview of the art - general principles, philosophy behind it, etc. would be great. There are very few people in these rare southern arts who are enthusiastically sharing their positive visions and knowledge for the future of their styles...

Good luck in this initiative!

FIRE HAWK
11-02-2002, 09:58 PM
I would like to see an instruction manual.

TkdWarrior
11-03-2002, 08:30 AM
ok a breif intro on Histories(like how the founder inspired n all)
philosophies...telling students about ways to this art...
some instruction text/pics... some applications with principles...
ideas of Master...
n good luck to u n ur sifu...
-TkdWarrior-

HuangKaiVun
11-03-2002, 10:02 AM
When I go for books, I look for certain things.

The first thing I want is a history of the style. The reason for that is that without knowing the history, it's hard to figure out why the style exists to begin with.