PDA

View Full Version : The best diet for the internal martial artist?

jbmmaster
11-06-2002, 11:47 AM
Im new to internal martial arts and i was wondering what should i eat and drink in order to suit my practices?

I was thinking about the taoist diet but im clueless as whats best? any information would be helpful.

Thank you

Muppet
11-06-2002, 12:44 PM
Eat to be healthy.

Any dietary restrictions are due to religious constraints (which in reality have little to do with the IMA) or for your health.

As far I know, no one worth their salt in the internal arts circles have ever emphasized a particular diet that everybody is supposed to follow, so stick to a sensible, well-balanced diet.

You know, avoid consuming too much alcohol, processed foods, highly-fatty foods, be sure to consume enough fresh veggies and fruits on a daily basis, don't keep left-overs for more than a day, etc.

If you're really concerned, then you may want to do your research and see which foods mix with others, what nutritional deficiencies that you may have that you didn't realize, etc.

For instance, citrus fruits like oranges don't mix too well with most veggies, so it should be consumed separately and during different meals.

stormmountain
11-07-2002, 04:27 PM
You should definately eat large slabs of beef, as much as you can possible cram in your mouth.

Repulsive Monkey
11-08-2002, 05:19 AM