PDA

View Full Version : Mid Martial Arts crisis

General Kwei
11-12-2002, 02:15 PM
I normally post on this site under a different name but for personal reasons wanted to keep my information private.
I have been studying an art for a few years now, and have invested quite a bit of time in it. I have been of late, doing about 20-25 hours a week training and spending plenty of money to meet with people at the top of my line to train with them.
Lately I have had some doubts. I am a big guy and my art is more internal. It really doesn't matter except that it takes quite a bit of investment, in time mostly, to become good at an internal art, and I have come to the conclusion that I got into martial arts to fight and I want to learn to fight, quickly. I am not in a huge hurry but I am of the belief that if I am learning to fight, a year is reasonable to become a good fighter, not the best mind you, not even close, just better then average.
So now I have a conundrum. Do I drop my art and learn something else? Do I continue on doubting myself in my art and knowing it will be several years before I am any sort of good fighter?
I am not getting any younger, I would like to fight in a tournemant or two before I get too old.

Any suggestions, support, help?

wushu chik
11-12-2002, 02:23 PM
Can't you do both? Seriously, why don't you and some other students get together and start a sparring/fighting club kinda thing. You guys can all practice together outside of class...and the practice will well advance you. Or, try going to a few different schools and see if they have an open sparring night. You might be able to join in on some other schools....differernt styles, that might have some good stuff that you can learn, again, which will advance you quicker, and make you better!