PDA

View Full Version : Paradigm shift

red5angel
11-22-2002, 10:05 AM
Ok, after some soul searching and some reflecting on my martial training so far I have had a huge paradigm shift. I attribute some of this to interaction here on this forum, there are some personalities on here that cant help but look at things logically ad from a realistic point of view and for them, you know who you are, I thank you.

Now on to an explanation. For some of you who know me, you know I have been pretty ferverent about studying wingchun. Before my wingchun I studied Karate, and while it was a fun experience it lacked something. I came across Wing Chun many years later and realized that the things I was looking for were contained in wing chun.

Mostly a realistic and effective way to defend myself. Also, sometimes we get into an art, of any sort, be it martial or otherwise, to do some soul searching, to challenge who we are and what it is we can get out of ourselves.
My path through wingchun helped me to figure out that while I was young, not only did I want to learn self defense, but I also wanted to compete. For a while I told myself that all I needed was wingchun.
I was fortunate to find what I consider to be one of the best wing chun instructors I have ever met. His skill is real and it is dangerous and that is what impressed me. TMA training has become for the most part watered down, not as tough or demanding as it seemed to use to be. Wing Chun is heading down that path, too many hobbyist are out their teaching as a hobby as well, not enough people who really desire it with all their being, the level of skill you can attain by following these arts.

So, I took a look at what I wanted, determined that for me it would be another path I had to go to get what I wanted, the skills to compete in competitions where I could challenge myself.