PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question.

haamu
12-02-2002, 07:44 AM
Hi all.
I've been doing (modern) wushu for about three months. It's fun and looks nice... well, most of the time it looks like gymnastics, but nice anyway :) However, I feel I need something more "traditional" or "martial".

My problem is that there are only a few schools here (Helsinki, Finland) teaching traditional arts. And most of those school have one class a week, usually one hour a week. Do you think it's enogh to learn the art... i mean really learn? I can do forms and stuff at home, but... I think I would need more guidance than one lousy hour a week :confused:

haamu.

IronFist
12-02-2002, 12:13 PM
I don't know about schools in Finland, but welcome to KFO. :D

IronFist

Daredevil
12-02-2002, 01:42 PM
Heya ghostie,

Welcome to KFO and nice to have (yet) another Finn around.

I'm more or less biased, but I think my opinion is at least somewhat educated as I've seen a good number of the classes (in traditional chinese arts) being offered in Helsinki and participated in a fair share. You can see what styles I've had most experience with in my profile.

I've found my place studying Bajiquan (and Chen style Taijiquan) and have only good things to say about my master, who is a fearsome in skill and a nice teacher to boot. I can recommend this as a choice.

Of course, what works for me, doesn't necessarily work for others. Though I don't think you'll find a more skilled teacher anywhere in Finland, when it comes to actually possessing kungfu. There's other stuff around, of course. I could say good things about Tai Shin Mun, but even more so I'd put in a good word about Wing Tsun. It may be a bit more modern-flavored for some (lotsa folks crosstraining there and so on), but the guys are very serious and good practisioners. No nonsense and practical.

I'd rather not babble on too much about other schools, but I can answer specific questions you may have.