PDA

View Full Version : Attn: Musicians

IronFist
12-03-2002, 02:02 AM
Does this look like crap? My crap detector is going off. But I've seen these ads in guitar magazines years ago. It would be the coolest thing in the world it were true, but I doubt that it is. Most likely crap. Remember, the crap detector.

Perfect Pitch Course (http://www.perfectpitch.com)

IronFist

WTJune
12-03-2002, 03:34 AM
...never heard of this... but I'm a drummer - do i count ? ;)

ciao

June

Souljah
12-03-2002, 04:13 AM
Yes you can train youself to recognise pitches if thats what your questioning.....is it?

But then you dont have to spend any money to do this you can just get a few mp3's and try and figure the melodies out using a keyboard.....the more you do it the easier it will become and eventually you will be able to recognize tones and pitches just as they are played. Well thats what I do it anyway.
Although a couple of books and an explanation of the major and minor gorups would always help....:)

soul

KC Elbows
12-03-2002, 06:48 AM
Hehehe...

I crack up whenever I think of perfect pitch.

See, my mother and my sister both have it, and musical training reaffirmed it. However, it is not always the blessing that it seems. In their case, if they look at sheet music and it says that the note they should do is a 'D', they can do a perfect one.

However, let's just say my dad and I transposed the music before they started singing. Then, the sheet music would still say 'D', but it could be a C they should be singing in the new key.

If you're like my mom and sister, you will reflexively fall back on your perfect pitch, and sing a 'D'. And be out of tune with the music.

And if you are like my father and I, you will get a good laugh out of it.

Now, people who don't have an inborn talent for perfect pitch have it easier, as they're more used to 'feeling' the music out, instead of going verbatim off of sheet music. Both are good skills.

Sharky
12-03-2002, 07:32 AM