PDA

View Full Version : tired of WC bashing

Bortacus
12-04-2002, 09:27 PM
I am a novice to wing chun and all martial arts period. So I don't know if this topic has been covered on here yet, or whatever, but I have noticed a lot of bashing of traditional martial arts, WC in particular. I don't have enough experience in WC to really have a good opinion on anything like how WC is supposedly a waste of time, and other tactless things I have read. I recently saw a video on www.mcdojo.com that showed a WC guy getting the crap kicked out of him by a shotokan karate guy. I admit, the WC guy was terrible, but this is not grounds to judge WC by. I just don't think it's fair. I don't go around saying TKD sucks because I saw some idiot who didn't know how to apply his skills was getting beat by some other system. I was curious to hear other peoples' opinions on this matter.

Bortacus
12-04-2002, 09:38 PM
correction, the WC guy sparred a Kyokushin Karate guy, but it's beside the point.

cha kuen
12-04-2002, 10:44 PM
You'll see that in any style where they get beat up by another style. Any style of marital arts still has to learn the basics of a fight, fighting position, emotional psychology, strategy, distance fighting, composure..

**wing chun books (http://cgi6.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewSellersOtherItems&userid=taichimaster06&include=0&since=-1&sort=3&rows=25)

Miles Teg
12-04-2002, 11:07 PM
I think we have talked about the clip you are talking about.

Did the guy go down with a kick? And was there some footage of his training routine before the fight?

If Im right you should go and check out this topic when it was talked about, it will be a very old thread now.