PDA

View Full Version : Kun Tao

Boz_man
08-05-2000, 12:42 AM
Does anyone here know anything about Kun Tao or take it?

MonkeySlap
08-05-2000, 02:58 AM
I have been pretty heavily exposed to it. Why do you ask?

Boz_man
08-05-2000, 08:03 AM
I take it and I was just wondering about it. Not many people talk about it or seem to know an incredible amount about it so i was just curious.

silat1
08-18-2000, 02:12 AM
I have had the privilege of training/ teaching in both the Hokkien and Filipino versions of Kuntao for the last 25 yrs. I started training in kuntao when I lived on Taiwan and trained in the Maharlika Kuntaw system when I lived in the Philippines. I feel that the art of Kuntao is what suits my needs at the present time and will stay with it for as long as I am able

------------------
Maharlika Kuntaw

MonkeySlap Too
08-18-2000, 02:20 AM
The term Kun Tao is pretty broad based, incorporating many schools and styles. I reccomend reading this months Journal of ASian Martial Arts for an article on what the term means.

Other than that, just like Kung Fu, Wu Shu, Guo Shu, Chuan Fa, Kenp, Silat it's a general term for fighting arts from particular region and the quiality varies from school to school.

I've met and trained with some pretty impressive Kun Tao exponents, and some really unimpressive ones.

silat1
08-19-2000, 06:11 AM