PDA

View Full Version : Any Buk Sing Choy Lay Fut family members around?

Buk Sing CLF
08-14-2000, 09:34 AM
Hello to everyone,
I thought it would be good to chat about BSCLF as I haven't seen much of it in this newsgroup.
I have been practicing BSCLF for 3 years now. I'm in Perth, Western Australia.
If anyone would like to discuss any aspect of this amazing art I welcome you.

It would be interesting to find out differences to training styles in other gwoons.

nospam
08-14-2000, 05:47 PM
Yup.

Check out my profile and head to my link for the website. Gives ya a good indication of what we do in Buck Sing...Canadian style /infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Buk Sing CLF
08-15-2000, 07:09 AM
Hi, nice to hear from you.

I like your web site. My Sifu would like to create one similar to that soon.

I had heard of a school in Canada that followed Tarm Sarm directly. Is yours the only one?
I am going to be travelling to Canada in a couple of years so I hope I get the opportunity to drop in.

Our school (gwoon) was founded in 1966 by Vince and Dave Lacey, you have a link to their site in Fremnont, Calif.

After they left Perth, my Sifu started up the new school with another long term student of the Lacey's and (I think) Dave Lacey's son Jason. I can never remember which one is his father.

We follow the Buk Sing style from Gong On. He originally trained under the founder of the Chow Gar system and was spotted by Tarm Sarm in a tournament. Tarm Sarm decided that Gong On would make a fine disciple and thus made him one by using his typical style, by challenging him.

Anyway, Gong on was one of the students to train with Ku Yu Cheung and so he mastered the iron palm and northern shaolin techniques as well.