PDA

View Full Version : indonesian tiger kuntao

Steeeve
08-15-2000, 06:29 PM
I'm a teacher and practionner of kuntao silat De Thouars.... kuntao is the chinese MA
in indonesian... we have fukien ,shantung,canton kuntao style.... in kuntao silat the kuntao came from shaolin and internal style(pakua) with the influence of the silat.

About the tiger...we have Harimau silat a groundfighting style...we have also kuntao tiger forms(similar to hung gar tiger).... the shantung black tiger is a kuntao style a northern chinese style nothing to do with the hung gar or fu jow pai style...if you want to find similarities the shantung BT seem be like Cha Chuan(long fist)

By the way the kuntao of indonesian is almost alway blend with some silat...

Sorry for my english
Steeeve

FIRE HAWK
08-15-2000, 09:02 PM
Hi its true what you say SHANTUNG BLACK TIGER is a northern style and it does look like northern long fist and it might have Silat in it but all the black tiger styles that come from shaolin are called HARK FU MOON and then they branched out and you have styles like Fu Jow Pai and Hak Fu Pai and Shantung black tiger that is from the north in the book SHANTUNG BLACK TIGER A SHAOLIN FIGHTING ART of NORTH CHINA it says the style was transmited tocertain masters of south china it has a relation to the other black tiger styles of shaolin being that they all came from HARK FU MOON and shaolin. FIRE HAWK

Steeeve
08-16-2000, 01:28 AM
Howdy

The author of the book shantung BT is Tjoa Kek Kiong is master of a various kuntao formslike the fukien and shantung kuntao...by the way He have developed a synthesis system taking some japenese judo,karate,jujutsu and aikido stuff incorporated with his kuntao..

How pure is his shantung BT I don't know!!!
the interesting thing about Hark Fu moon and the tiger of the hung gar is.... probably the founder of hung gar learned the tiger style(hark Fu moon) and incorporate the crane
style...to create the hung gar.