PDA

View Full Version : chin woo- tam tui, jeet kuen and gung lek kuen

gung lik kuen
12-25-2002, 12:29 PM
its been a while since ive been here but... anyway.......
Ive been studying chin woo kung fu for 5 years now, but I was wondering where the origins of the chin woo syllabus came from? its gonna be hard to find exact quotes as to why we chose these forms along with nam choi bung bo , bagua dao etc. Mt sisfu has shown me a lot but it would be intresting to see what you guys in the states have especially any students of jimmy woo...

i also know from my general reading that there are other types of gung like and tam tui. Surely they would be the same ? But I guess that everyone has their own interpretation of the forms and would tailor it to suit the style they practice.. ie eagle claw.

Some thoughts would be cool.

Also can anyone explain why the sanshou we see looks like kick boxing ?

And the last thing is ..... to gene ching really, will the magazine ever do anything on the chin woo association? it was good to read the article on the chin woo world cup, but something on its roots ane history would be nice to see, consiedering it is such a big organisation and has many members in so many countries and also its historical place in china.

any thoughts peeps
Greg
student of Yokewan lee
Chin Woo UK

SevenStar
12-25-2002, 12:52 PM
Originally posted by gung lik kuen

Also can anyone explain why the sanshou we see looks like kick boxing ?

When people fight, they use what is natural to them, which would tell me one of three things:

1. they train to fight that way
2. they aren't drilling the principles of their system enough, only the strikes.
3. it works for them, so that's what they prefer.

LEGEND
12-25-2002, 06:34 PM
"Also can anyone explain why the sanshou we see looks like kick boxing ?"

Since u've been training for 5 years...how about u go out there and compete in ONE event so we can see the difference in KICKBOXING san shou and CHIN WOO san shou.