PDA

View Full Version : Fighter or Artist?

red5angel
12-30-2002, 09:52 AM
Which do you consider yourself? As Martial Artist the subject of what Martial Art really means comes up now and then. What do you consider yourself? Why?

I for one consider myself a fighter more then an artist. I took up martial arts to fight, some for self defense, some for sport but I wanted to fight and I could care less if I look good doing it or get it perfect.

ewallace
12-30-2002, 09:55 AM
Right now I consider myself a martial slacker. Hopefully that will change after the holidays are over.

Chang Style Novice
12-30-2002, 09:59 AM
1/2 and 1/2

I'm a ****ist.

red5angel
12-30-2002, 10:14 AM
ROFLMAO!!!@ CSN Man I was dragging today but that woke me up!!!!

Chang Style Novice
12-30-2002, 10:21 AM
If you liked that, you'll LOVE this. (http://www.johnbarber.com/pujol.html)

red5angel
12-30-2002, 10:49 AM
Ah, Le Petomane, a true artist!!!

KC Elbows
12-30-2002, 10:57 AM
I'm an artist a la Pollock, in otherwords I like to get drunk and drive me and my mistress into things. In a wu de sort of way.

David Jamieson
12-30-2002, 10:59 AM
in my youth i was fighter through and through, in my middle age i tend to lean towards the artistic expression of the martial arts.

but i'm good for a go if need be. :D

cheers

Souljah
12-30-2002, 11:09 AM
bit a' both i'd say, swaying more towards the artist side as im not a violent person by heart

rogue
12-30-2002, 11:21 AM
Artist. I consider guys like Merry, fa_jing and the others who train to fight and do fight as guys who can carry that title. Not to say they also aren't artist in their arts. I just don't think I can call myself a fighter since I don't really fight. Now there is the other category of being able to defend oneself somewhere in between the two extreems.

yenhoi
12-30-2002, 12:19 PM
Martial Artists are fighters.

:eek:

dezhen2001
12-30-2002, 12:30 PM
thats a tough question R5A!