PDA

View Full Version : Lau Gar

Sasha
12-30-2002, 08:02 PM
I've been practising this style for about 4 years now I think, though I've only been putting any kind of real effort in for about a year, and I'm at uni 30 weeks a year, where there aren't any lessons, so I'm only orange sash.

But it really interests me, and if there are any senior practitioners here, I have a lot of questions about the style. Also, when I *am* at uni, it'd be helpful to be able to come here and ask questions about techniques/applications etc.

Also, just out of curiousity, are there any people who practise this style who *weren't* taught it in the UK?

Cheers,
Sasha

Shaolin Master
12-30-2002, 08:28 PM
Hi,
I practised a bit of the ZhongShan(Guangdong Prov) variety of Lau Ga.

lau gar
12-31-2002, 02:37 AM
iv'e been practising for 3 years and im a orange sash as well.
It's the most popular form of kung fu in uk so............

AndyM
12-31-2002, 08:55 AM
Originally posted by Shaolin Master
Hi,
I practised a bit of the ZhongShan(Guangdong Prov) variety of Lau Ga.

Hi SM,

I'd like to know a little more about the style you mention, yet my web searches have found nothing. Can you put me in touch with anyone who knows more?

Shaolin Master
12-31-2002, 09:38 AM
Can you communicate in Chinese ? areyouwilling to travel ? what else would you like to know ?

AndyM
12-31-2002, 10:02 AM
Sadly, I cannot communicate in Chinese.
I am willing to travel though.
I'd like to know the names of the forms listed within the Zhongshan Lau Ga (if possible whith English Translations), and also a little of it's lineage, i.e where did it start, who founded it and when. Finally, if it is still being taught as a style, by whom, and where?

My WC Sifu might help me with translations if you have anything for me!

I appreciate this is a lot to ask, I just hope you are feeling festive seeing as it's that time of year:D

Thanks

R
01-01-2003, 09:11 PM