PDA

View Full Version : What Style To Start On?

Xuon
01-03-2003, 05:08 PM
Hi all im new here
I was wondering what could be the base of my fighting to start on.
Since im new to this I found some schools near my area, that teach, Jiu Jitsu, Kenpo, Karate, Judo, Street Fighting, Boxing and Vale Tudo.

Basically I want something that it's agressive, for self defense.

Regarding my body type, I used to be a soccer player, so I have the body of a soccer player :P

thx for the replies

Ohh btw, they have Pancrace too

PHILBERT
01-04-2003, 12:13 AM
Where do you live?

Since im new to this I found some schools near my area, that teach, Jiu Jitsu, Kenpo, Karate, Judo, Street Fighting, Boxing and Vale Tudo.

Define street fighting, there is no street fighting art. I'd assume that the JuJutsu, Kenpo, Karate schools would teach something of street fighting.

This is a personal choice though. Do you like being close to your opponent? Like REAL close? Like hugging them close? If so (or if not) avoid Judo and JuJutsu (Is it Japanese JuJutsu or Brazilian?) and Vale Tudo.

Boxing is probably for sport though, not a hole lot of street fighting aspects there since they don't train kicks.

This is though a personal choice, we get people here once in a while that say "What should I take?" and everyone replies "Personal choice", it's what fits you. Some people here feel that Hung Gar is there thing, other people think Choy Lay Fut, Shaolin, Brazilian JiuJitsu, etc.

What I recommend though is going to the schools, meet the instructors, see if you can take a free class there or watch one. Another thing I recommend is just appearing, never call ahead of time "Hey can I stop in and take a look?" Just appear. If the instructor won't even let you WATCH a class, walk away.

Keep note though that if you take Karate, JuJutsu, Judo, Kenpo, you'll be barefoot when you train, so respect the school when you enter and remove your shoes if you plan on walking around the training floor.

Scarletmantis