PDA

View Full Version : What does everyone think about training videos? Are they beneficial?

Deacon
01-05-2003, 08:35 PM
Okay, so I'm new to the shaolin systems and have been dying to become involved in them for the last few years. I have finally found a school that can teach me the five animals, eagle, and a few others, however I am a bit financially strapped at the moment for an additional committment to trainning (I currently am studying Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu).

Since I can't afford the classes right now, would a video on, for instance, eagle claw be a good introduction to understanding and becoming familiar with a style or is it a bit unpractical for learning the style. I really want to get started on training but if instructional videos are unhelpful, I'd like to know. What does everyone think? Your comments are greatly appreciated. Thanks.

BTW, is anyone familar with reputable schools of shaolin, or related Chinese systems in the Chicagoland area? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

David Jamieson
01-06-2003, 04:38 PM
people have different abilities in their personal learning style IE: some can learn when shown, some need to hear and be shown, some can just watch and others need total involvement and so on.

If you are a person who can learn from a video then go for it. They are an incredibly useful tool of instruction if they fit your learning style.

and don't let no one tell you different. you may need corrction at some point, but that's what everybody needs in some place regarding their training or performance.

cheers

kai men
01-07-2003, 04:44 AM
Well, my position about this is contradictory.
I think that Videos are a very valuable tool for research. Also think that if you are going to train with a teacher who lives away from your town, you could benefit from training with the videos first and during your relationship.
But...some people have became "kung fu teachers" just by learning some videos. These are the bad news about this.
So what can we do?