PDA

View Full Version : advice on training diet

dezhen2001
01-09-2003, 05:10 PM
hey guys (and gals if any come here :p)

after a period of basically slacking coz of being depressed and stress, i am now officialy ****ed of and wanna get back in to training. :mad:

Basically i am wanting advice on how to try and gain a little weight/muscle. i am around 5'10" (178cm) and aorund 150lbs (68kilos) so a bit on the scrawny side. Guess that makes me an ectomorph :D

Now, bearing in mind that i am also a student and on a VERY tight budget, i was wondering if u guys have any advice u can give me. Really i just need ideas of which foods are good for protein and stuff, and what is the best way to take it, when etc. i have looked at some old threads but there seems to be some conflicting advice so im confused :confused:

ok, to give you an idea of my training, read below:

Flexibility: basic Shaolin warmup and stretching methods to increase my flexibility and range of body movement, including jumping stuff.

soft Qigong: soft flowing exercises to develop internal health

hard qigong: harsher exercises using bodyweight and equipment such as bricks and a wall to develop strength and the 'bones/muscles/skin'. Also breathing techniques to use the body

Wing Chun: Siu Lim Tao and basic movements

Stances: Zhan Zhuang and Mabu training.

Now im not really bothered about getting 'big' or anything like that... more just to become stronger (and if im lucky maybe a few pounds heavier). Kinda whole body strength, connected - The hard qigong really helps with that. But im more wondering about the food side as its important for me too ;)

i dont think i would use supplements as a) expensive and b) dont like that idea, prefer food.

Any advice anyone can give me would be most appreaciated :)
thanks,

dawood

Kempo Guy
01-09-2003, 05:30 PM
dezhen2001,