PDA

View Full Version : dietary advice for health/training

dezhen2001
01-09-2003, 06:38 PM
hey guys (and gals if any come here)

after a period of basically slacking coz of being depressed and stress, i am now officialy p|ssed of and wanna get back in to training.

Basically i am wanting advice on how to try and gain a little weight/muscle but in a more natural way. i am around 5'10" (178cm) and aorund 150lbs (68kilos) so a bit on the scrawny side. Guess that makes me an ectomorph.

Now, bearing in mind that i am also a student and on a VERY tight budget, i was wondering if u guys have any advice u can give me. i posted this on the Health forum as well, but as i do Qigong and htings was wondering if there is a TCM perspective to this.

ok, to give you an idea of my training, read below:

Flexibility: basic warmup and stretching methods to increase my flexibility and range of body movement, including jumping stuff.

soft Qigong: standing and moving sets

hard qigong

Wing Chun: Siu Lim Tao and basic movements

Stances: Zhan Zhuang and Mabu training.

Now im not really bothered about getting 'big' or anything like that... more just to become stronger (and if im lucky maybe a few pounds heavier). Kinda whole body strength, connected - The hard qigong really helps with that. But im more wondering about the food side as its important for me too

im not interested in supplements really as a) expensive and b) dont like that idea, prefer food.

Any advice anyone can give me would be most appreaciated
thanks,

dawood

Former castleva
01-10-2003, 10:35 AM
:)

Would seem to me that you should,based on what is handed out,be worthy to take a look at this from a dietary perspective (mainly "western") which will most probably suit your needs in order to grow etc.