PDA

View Full Version : monkey king staff/lau gar staff length?

sing fu
09-03-2000, 01:07 PM
I've just posted this in the KFO general forum - doh! Bear with me, internet beginner here.

I was wondering if anyone could tell me the length and thickness of the staff used for Hung Gar Monkey King/Lau Gar Staff training? More specifically, do most kwoons use an eight foot staff for these sets?

Thanks in advance!

illusionfist
09-03-2000, 01:17 PM
For the monkey staff you use a regular staff or an eyebrow height staff. I believe the most common is the eyebrow height staff. I guess most staves are eyebrow height to me, hehe /infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

For the long pole i believe you are supposed to have a pole that is 2 1/2- 3 ft taller than you are. So for me since i am 6'1, i would be using about 8 1/2 ft long pole. Now don't take my word for it because i am really not sure on the matter cuz i don't know a long pole form yet.

Peace out /infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

sing fu
09-03-2000, 01:22 PM
thanks illusionfist!!

Subitai
09-03-2000, 08:58 PM
Hi Sing Fu,

For Monkey King staff, most people i come across will use a length from out stretched arms middle finger to opposite hand middle finger. However since the set is based on the Mythical Monkey King, I believe you should try to master it at different lengths. Long and shorter. That was one of the MK's special magical skills. He had a Pole that he could make any length and size.

(Heh heh, no pun intended but that could be joked about)

As for the long pole, what Illusionfist said said is @ to what we do. If you lift your right arm completely straight up...the pole tip/top should be at least 1 ft above your middle finger. If not more.
(It's usually the longest finger, unless somebodies a freak)

In general the longer your use the weapon (correctly, w/ full power) the most skill level derived from practicing w/ it.

take care,
"O"

Paul Skrypichayko
09-03-2000, 10:45 PM