PDA

View Full Version : Tai Chi + Wing Chun

mtod1
01-15-2003, 04:08 PM
Hi all.

Has anybody have any experience training in Tai Chi and Wing Chun? MySifu told me that they are very complementary to one another in terms of techniques etc. I'd be particularly interested in hearing from anyone that studied Chang style Tai Chi, but any TC styles input would be great.

Seeya ;)

Marky
01-15-2003, 04:58 PM
Hi Mtod1,

I've been practicing Yang taiji for about 6 months now and wing chun for about 4 years, so my opinion is based on that limited experience.

Taiji techniques do not use muscle. Defensive movements absorb the opponent's energy, which generally means they are "drawing in" a person's attack. At the same time, offensive movements resemble strikes of a whip; you take the opponent's energy into you, and redirect it into your attacking hand for the strike. Footwork and rooting are keys to generating additional power as well as efficiently retaining the power that your opponent has "given to you".

Push hands is the "sensitivity training" of tai chi. The hand and foot movements create a "wave" of energy that moves from one individual to the other. One is always "offensive", and pushing into the opponent, while the "defensive" player is drawing in the push and redirecting it to an offensive use. In double push hands, each person's second hand is placed on the elbow of the opponent's first hand. I use the word "energy" in its most exoteric sense, and I don't mean to imply that taiji practice is more mystical or generates any more energy/power/"qi" than wing chun.

The techniques are slightly more "flashy" than in wing chun, but they are equal in effectiveness when you see the theory and important points behind those techniques.

That's how I've seen tai chi, I hope it helps you. As for how it's different from wing chun, that's best left up to you.

yuanfen
01-15-2003, 06:19 PM
IMO- the body mechanics of WC and TCC are quite different.