PDA

View Full Version : fitness careers

stubbs
01-20-2003, 07:59 AM
hi all,

i was just wondering if anyone had ideas on how i could use my enthusiasm(sp?) for fitness in a career. i've been looking around online at jobs in the fitness industry and it seems that gym receptionists get more money than the instructors. lol.

i know it's a highly competitive industry to get into but i was hopeing someone could offer a bit of advice. im 18 and have no fitness related qualifications (at the moment im studying A levels in economics and psychology)and i haven't made any fixed career decisions yet.

im also interested in anything martial arts related, nutrition, meditation, qigong, and shiatsu.

how hard is it to get into and where's the money at?

cheers,
stubbs
________
Italian Recipes (http://www.cooking-chef.com/italian/)

Losttrak
01-20-2003, 08:19 AM
The money you earn depends on what you can put on the table. If you have no fitness skills or specialties.. get some. I would suggest joining 24 Hour Fitness as a trainer. They will get you your cert for free... then you can stay on or quit lol. That how alot of peeps do it... hehe. Take some classes on various training methods (weights, cardio, etc) so you arent teaching peeps a bunch of unhealthy junk. From that point on you need charisma and enthusiasm. In the end, its you who decide your personal worth...

Kungfu boy
01-20-2003, 03:49 PM
Losttrak is on the "right trak".... sorry couldn't resist.

But he is right. 24hr will certify you for free and alot of people do start out there. I believe a class(like when your in front of a teacher) is better for the basics, so you can ask questions readily etc. You can get all other certs online. I am looking into getting certified this year, after that I want to get a few speciality ones through the net like diet and nutrition stuff.

The more certs you have=the more you get paid= the more likely the clients will stay with you and even suggest you to friends etc.