PDA

View Full Version : 多is my new Sifu going to be good or not多

novicedragon
09-24-2000, 06:41 PM
From what ive found out so far she studdied both northern and southern dragon style kung fu.I asked what rank was she and she said black and gold. I guess after black it goes black/green black/red black/gold GOLD. gold being like grand master she's been studying like 13 or 15 years i cant remeber exactly.is that possible to be that high in that amount of time? also how can you tell if a Sifu is a good teacher bcause they may know it but teaching is a different matter.any help would be greatful.
Thank You

The Whyzyrd
09-24-2000, 07:22 PM
novicedragon - can I ask where you are studying? I spent some time studying Northern Dragon.

novicedragon
09-24-2000, 09:07 PM
I am studying in mesa arizona under sifu cluadia santos. But i dont remember her sifu's name. its is called dragon style kung fu and Lung Jop Pai kung fu academy. /infopop/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

[This message was edited by novicedragon on 09-25-00 at 02:13 PM.]

The Whyzyrd
09-24-2000, 09:20 PM
Sorry, I don't know sifu cluadia santos. I studied in New Jersey. I can ask my old Sifu if he knows her.

As far as the time spent...yes, 15 years is enough to gain such a high level. My Sifu had the same rank (Black and Gold) and he had been studying for a similar period of time (~15 years) though he had received said rank in Northern Dragon and was in turn studying Southern Dragon.

How do you tell if someone is a good teacher?

Are you learning? Do you walk away from class (or during the middle of a class) simply shaking your head - as in, "I don't get it."?

Do you often find yourself behind on routines because the instructor doesn't take the time to show you something? When the instructor does show you something does She use several different ways of saying the same thing until She finds one you (or any other student) understand?