PDA

View Full Version : shhhhh, don't tell anyone

red5angel
01-28-2003, 02:06 PM
I am not going to tell anyone else I am a martial artist. :mad: I am getting sick of running into all sorts of people who get me excited talking about wanting to learn or train and then dropping the ball.
Seriously, in the last month, no less then 4 of my freinds, one twice, have come up with some dumb excuse for not showing up to train, after telling me up to the very last minute, they were going to be there.

dezhen2001
01-28-2003, 02:20 PM
i dont tell many ppl i am a martial artist either... coz usually they end up trying to hit me to see if i can fight :mad: which is all fine and well, but not when ur in the middle of having a normal conversation or with friends :mad:

im glad the way our classes run - its basically turn up and train, everyone gets individual attention. So if not many ppl turn up, then we get more attention as well as group attention :) Also it means my seniors get to do some of their own training as well as helping those of us who are there, so it can be good for all ;p

dawood

Laughing Cow
01-28-2003, 02:26 PM
I simply tell people I do TJQ, if they ask.

Our classes are run very similar to Dezhen2001's.

Show up, train, get called over for personal tuition/correction, train some more.
Seniors will answer questions and assist juniors too.
Plus, we can still use the facility after Sifu is gone home.

When I started we had 5 Students at my level, currently it is either me alone or another guy, the rest haven't seem them for a while.
:(

Ford Prefect
01-28-2003, 02:31 PM
red5angel,

Something we can agree about! :) I gave about telling anybody about martial arts a while ago.

ghthomason,

To be fair to all the dojo/kwoon/academy/etc visitors, maybe some just didn't like the place. I've visitted a few places, which I didn't like at all, but for the sake of being polite I never said anything negative. Of course, I never led them on either.

red5angel